Karnataka CM race: How Congress management broke the logjam

Karnataka CM race: How Congress management broke the logjam

NEW DELHI: After 4 days of stressful top-level conferences, the Congress on Thursday lastly announced that


would be the next

Karnataka primary minister

while D K Shivakumar would be his deputy.
A Congress Legislature Party (CLP) conference kept in Bengaluru late on Thursday officially chose Siddaramaiah as its leader, paving his way to take control of as CM. The celebration stated that Shivakumar will continue as state chief till the conclusion of the 2024 Lok Sabha surveys.

The oath-taking event will be hung on May 20, precisely a week after outcomes were announced for the state surveys that saw the Congress get a frustrating bulk of 135 seats in the 224-member House. CMs of Congress-held states, a number of opposition leaders have actually likewise gotten welcomes for the event.

Tamil Nadu CM MK Stalin, Telangana CM K Chandrashekar Rao, West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee, SP chief Akhilesh Yadav, NCP chief Sharad Pawar, previous Maharashtra CM Uddhav Thackeray, and Bihar CM Nitish Kumar have actually all gotten welcomes.
Events turn tense
The post-election events in Karnataka had actually paved the way to tense talks as both the stalwarts of Karnataka Congress dug in their heels and declared their right to the leading post.

Previous state CM Siddaramaiah was viewed as an apparent option due to his experience and appeal, however it was Shivakumar’s efforts as state celebration president that had actually brought Congress back to power.
As much as Kharge
The Congress Legislature Party conference kept in Bengaluru on May 14 stopped working to give a choice and passed a one-line resolution authorising Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge to make the hard choice.


Mark your calendars: Karnataka oath taking event set for May 20

The 3 observers that were deputed by Kharge to manage the CLP conference carried out a secret tally and after that took down the views of every freshly chosen MLA. They later on provided the report to the celebration president.
Claimants land in Delhi
A day after the CLP conference, Siddaramaiah flew to Delhi and held a host of conferences with leading leaders to get assistance for his claim.
Shivakumar landed in the nationwide capital a day after Siddaramaiah and preserved that the CM post was truly his, consistently highlighting that the celebration had actually won 135 seats under his watch.
A flurry of conferences
Throughout 2 days, previous celebration president Rahul Gandhi, basic secretary KC Venugopal, state in-charge Randeep Surjewala and a host of other leading leaders were often seen checking out the house of Kharge, using recommendations and possible solutions to keep both the complaintants delighted.
Kharge likewise sought advice from UPA president Sonia Gandhi, according to numerous media reports.
On May 16, Rahul held assessments with Kharge for around 90 minutes.

The celebration president likewise met Siddaramaiah and Shivakumar individually. While the conference with Shivakumar lasted round 30 minutes, Siddaramaiah was at Kharge’s house for over an hour.
Rahul and Sonia
The last round of talks began on May 17 when both the leaders met Rahul Gandhi at his house.

Shivakumar and Siddaramaiah likewise spoke with Sonia Gandhi, who was away in Shimla on a getaway. Sonia likewise asked Shivakumar to talk to Kharge and Rahul to figure out the matter, sources stated.
Sources included that after Rahul informed both the leaders to sit together and exercise an option with Kharge, it was the celebration chief who informed Siddaramaiah and Shivakumar to hold talks with Venugopal and Surjewala, and figure out the distinctions and accept Siddaramaiah as CM.
Group of ministers
The choice, sources stated, was chalked out in the wee hours of Thursday when all celebrations consented to accommodate confidantes of both the leaders and asked Shivakumar to continue the post of state Congress chief till the next year’s Parliamentary elections.
To maintain his number 2 position in the Karnataka federal government, Shivakumar was made the only deputy chief minister.
Around 20 ministers will likewise be taking the oath on May 20.
(With inputs from companies)

View Siddaramaiah to be next Karnataka CM, DK Shivakumar to be his deputy

Related Articles